The Trilogy:
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart


The Trilogy  was a result of choreographer Dominic Walsh’s three-year journey of researching the music and historical facts of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s life. In a groundbreaking effort Walsh created Amadeus for his company, Wolfgang for the Sarasota Ballet and Mozart for both companies in a collaboration that received critical acclaim and a recipient of the prestigious Princess Grace and Choo-San Goh awards for choreography.

When asked to describe creating Mozart Walsh said, “… unique about Mozart, and what I was excited to explore, was to create a work that will blended the personalities, skill, and artistic abilities of dancers from two companies.”

CLICK HERE to listen to Dominic speaking about The Trilogy’s premiere in Sarasota and his creative process and HERE speaking about “tradition and innovation” and the impact this had on the set design and Domenico Luciano’s costume designs


Wolfgang (for Webb)rep_wolfgang_190x205

Choreography Dominic Walsh
Music W. A. Mozart, Così fan tutte: Soave Sia Il Vento; London Philharmonic Orchestra, Symphony No. 5 in B Flat, K22 – 2. Andante; Prague Chamber Orchestra, Symphony No. 7 in D, K45 – 1. Allegro; Prague Chamber Orchestra, Divertimento in B Major, K137. Andante; The Cleveland Orchestra, Overture (The Marriage of Figaro); London Philharmonic Orchestra

Lighting Design Robert Eubanks
Scenic Design Libbie Masterson
Costume Design Domenico Luciano

Wolfgang for Webb premiered on 25 April 2008 in Sarasota, Florida and performed by the Sarasota Ballet. In April 2009, it was performed as part of the The Trilogy: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in an innovative collaboration between Dominic Walsh Dance Theater and the Sarasota Ballet.  Watch a clip of Wolfgang here: 3 Minutes of Wolfgang!

World Premiere 25 April 2008
US Premiere 25 April 2008

Length  20 minutes


Amadeus (for Anita)rep_amadeus_190x255

Choreography Dominic Walsh
Music W.A. Mozart, Piano Concerto No. 26 in D Major ‘Coronation’, K537. Larghetto; Philharmonic Orchestra Voi, che sapete; London Philharmonic Orchestra, Piano Sonata in F Major, K332. Adagio, Symphony No. 1 in E Flat, K16 – 2. Andante; Prague Chamber Orchestra, Pa-Pa-Pa-Pa-Pa-Pa-Papagena! (Papageno and Papagena in The Magic Flute), Piano Concerto No. 23 in A Major, K488. Adagio; Philharmonic Orchestra, Symphony in B Flat, K45B, “55” – 1. Allegro; Prague Chamber Orchestra, Heartbeat Adagio; Amy Cain playing Mozart’s Andante in C written in 1761 when he was 5 years old, Così fan tutte: Soave Sia Il Vento; London Philharmonic Orchestra

Lighting Design Nicholas Phillips
Scenic Design Libbie Masterson
Costume Design Domenico Luciano

The production of Amadeus for Anita was underwritten by Anita Garten’s husband and friends. Watch a clip of Amadeus here: 5 Minutes of Amadeus!

World Premiere 7 February 2008
US Premiere 7 February 2008

Length 39 minutes



Choreography Dominic Walsh
Music W.A. Mozart  Don Giovanni – Overture,Variations On “Ah! Vous Dirai-Je, Maman,” KV 265, Divertimento for Strings No. 1 – Presto,Violin Concerto No. 3 – Adagio, Requiem In D Minor, K 626 – 1. Introitus: Requiem Aeternam

Lighting Design Nicholas Phillips
Scenic Design Libbie Masterson
Costume Design Domenico Luciano

Dedicated to Xavier Pont Gasso. Watch a clip of Mozart here: 8 Minutes of Mozart!

World Premiere 23 April 2009
US Premiere 23 April 2009

Length 30 minutes

Click here if you would like more information about staging works by Dominic Walsh.

Return to Repertoire List

Fatal error: Call to undefined function list_pages_at_depth() in /home/content/77/10888577/html/wp-content/themes/hatch/page.php on line 73